Bernalillo Board of County Commissioners:

I call on you to assure healthcare coverage for all county residents, and to use the UNM Hospital lease agreement and Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) as a foundation to achieve a well-designed system of healthcare for Bernalillo County.   This is essential for a more vibrant and healthy community, public safety, and the economic security of all residents. 

In March 2014 you unanimously passed a resolution that opened up the UNM Hospital lease agreement and stated:

  • Bernalillo County voters support a county-wide “mill levy” tax to provide health care to county residents through UNM Hospital, Mental Health Center and clinics (UNMH); and,
  • With mill levy funds UNMH currently operates an indigent care program called “UNM Care” that provides comprehensive healthcare benefits to over 26,000 county residents (note: less than 8,000 now!); and
  • National experts estimate at least half of all uninsured patients will remain without coverage even after the ACA, leaving over 60,000 Bernalillo County residents uninsured; and
  • Bernalillo County has increased mill levy funds to approximately $90 million dollars per year in order to meet UNMH’s indigent care expenses, operation of the Mental Health Center and the provision of behavioral and substance abuse treatment services; and,
  • The Lease and Memorandum of Understanding renegotiation provide an opportunity to strengthen the healthcare safety net in Bernalillo County and ensure adequate behavioral health and substance abuse treatment services.

Your resolution created a healthcare task force to develop recommendations to assist in the lease renegotiations by developing a community-driven plan for meeting the healthcare needs in Bernalillo County, strengthening the healthcare safety net for Bernalillo County, and ensuring accountability for the use of taxpayer dollars towards healthcare.

The task force recommendations reflect the experience of organizations and individual community members. Therefore I strongly support the Bernalillo County Healthcare Task Force November 2014 recommendations to improve the health safety net:

  • Assure Healthcare Coverage for All County Residents
  • Meet Native American Healthcare Obligations
  • Increase Availability of Behavioral Health Services
  • Build an Integrated System of Primary Care and Navigation Support
  • Provide Continuity of Care for Incarcerated People
  • Increase County Oversight and Accountability for Mill Levy Funds

I urge you to incorporate these recommendations in the UNM hospital lease agreement and MOU that guide the use of county mill levy funds for the benefit of all Bernalillo County residents. 


Who's signing

Chris Shuey
Kristine Suozzi
Steven Kanig
Ewing D. Underwood
Daniel Michel
Robin Seydel
Ellen Raimer
Sally-Alice Thompson
Michael Swick
Dan Spanogle
Karen Bonime
Mandy Pino
Adrian N. Carver
Jacque M. Garcia
Donald Meaders
Dr. Luis Roberto Sosa
Lois Kennedy
Charles R. Powell
Mark Rudd
Rebecca Johnson
Cori Pruitt
Antoinette Barreras
Dennis Castelon
Jose G. Vidana
Kathryn L. Arndt
Betty Nutall
Maricela Galvan
Dhara Shah
Armando Gandarilla
Gabriela Lopez
826 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Chris Shuey
    signed 2015-08-23 21:02:47 -0600
  • Kristine Suozzi
    signed 2015-08-23 20:57:11 -0600
  • Steven Kanig
    signed 2015-08-23 20:56:14 -0600
  • Ewing D. Underwood
    signed 2015-08-23 20:54:43 -0600
  • Daniel Michel
    signed 2015-08-23 20:53:55 -0600
  • Robin Seydel
    signed 2015-08-23 20:52:53 -0600
  • Ellen Raimer
    signed 2015-08-23 20:51:01 -0600
  • Sally-Alice Thompson
    signed 2015-08-23 20:50:16 -0600
  • Michael Swick
    signed 2015-08-23 20:49:24 -0600
  • Dan Spanogle
    signed 2015-08-23 20:48:35 -0600
  • Karen Bonime
    signed 2015-08-23 20:47:17 -0600
  • Mandy Pino
    signed 2015-08-23 20:46:27 -0600
  • Adrian N. Carver
    signed 2015-08-23 20:45:40 -0600
  • Jacque M. Garcia
    signed 2015-08-23 20:44:33 -0600
  • Donald Meaders
    signed 2015-08-23 20:43:39 -0600
  • Dr. Luis Roberto Sosa
    signed 2015-08-23 20:42:54 -0600
  • Lois Kennedy
    signed 2015-08-23 20:41:24 -0600
  • Charles R. Powell
    signed 2015-08-23 20:40:30 -0600
  • Mark Rudd
    signed 2015-08-23 20:39:43 -0600
  • Rebecca Johnson
    signed 2015-08-23 20:38:39 -0600
  • Cori Pruitt
    signed 2015-08-23 20:38:05 -0600
  • Antoinette Barreras
    signed 2015-08-23 20:37:14 -0600
  • Dennis Castelon
    signed 2015-08-23 20:36:05 -0600
  • Jose G. Vidana
    signed 2015-08-23 20:33:16 -0600
  • Kathryn L. Arndt
    signed 2015-08-23 20:32:28 -0600
  • Betty Nutall
    signed 2015-08-23 20:31:48 -0600
  • Maricela Galvan
    signed 2015-08-23 20:31:15 -0600
  • Dhara Shah
    signed 2015-08-23 20:30:33 -0600
  • Armando Gandarilla
    signed 2015-08-23 20:08:42 -0600
  • Gabriela Lopez
    signed 2015-08-23 20:08:09 -0600