Bernalillo Board of County Commissioners:

I call on you to assure healthcare coverage for all county residents, and to use the UNM Hospital lease agreement and Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) as a foundation to achieve a well-designed system of healthcare for Bernalillo County.   This is essential for a more vibrant and healthy community, public safety, and the economic security of all residents. 

In March 2014 you unanimously passed a resolution that opened up the UNM Hospital lease agreement and stated:

  • Bernalillo County voters support a county-wide “mill levy” tax to provide health care to county residents through UNM Hospital, Mental Health Center and clinics (UNMH); and,
  • With mill levy funds UNMH currently operates an indigent care program called “UNM Care” that provides comprehensive healthcare benefits to over 26,000 county residents (note: less than 8,000 now!); and
  • National experts estimate at least half of all uninsured patients will remain without coverage even after the ACA, leaving over 60,000 Bernalillo County residents uninsured; and
  • Bernalillo County has increased mill levy funds to approximately $90 million dollars per year in order to meet UNMH’s indigent care expenses, operation of the Mental Health Center and the provision of behavioral and substance abuse treatment services; and,
  • The Lease and Memorandum of Understanding renegotiation provide an opportunity to strengthen the healthcare safety net in Bernalillo County and ensure adequate behavioral health and substance abuse treatment services.

Your resolution created a healthcare task force to develop recommendations to assist in the lease renegotiations by developing a community-driven plan for meeting the healthcare needs in Bernalillo County, strengthening the healthcare safety net for Bernalillo County, and ensuring accountability for the use of taxpayer dollars towards healthcare.

The task force recommendations reflect the experience of organizations and individual community members. Therefore I strongly support the Bernalillo County Healthcare Task Force November 2014 recommendations to improve the health safety net:

  • Assure Healthcare Coverage for All County Residents
  • Meet Native American Healthcare Obligations
  • Increase Availability of Behavioral Health Services
  • Build an Integrated System of Primary Care and Navigation Support
  • Provide Continuity of Care for Incarcerated People
  • Increase County Oversight and Accountability for Mill Levy Funds

I urge you to incorporate these recommendations in the UNM hospital lease agreement and MOU that guide the use of county mill levy funds for the benefit of all Bernalillo County residents. 


Who's signing

Flor Gallardo
Anita Harwood
Ashley S. Brown
Lonni Ann Fredman
Mayra Acosta
William T. Robinson
Camilla Feibelman
Jason Marks
Elaine Hebard
Daniel Clifford Campbell
Nancy L. Gepfert
Cheryl Harris
Mark M. Feldman
Mary Ramos
Max Garcia
Atanacio Maldonado
Thelma Aragon
Lane McConnell
Sal Perdomo
Janet Mason
Becky Page
Heather Greene
Sean Ottmer
Margarita Galvis
Jacqueline V. Perez
Monica Westerfield
Juan Cardiel
Lucy Bertoledo-Ronquillo
Victoria Dominguez
Nancy Y. Diaz
826 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Flor Gallardo
    signed 2015-08-29 17:12:18 -0600
  • Anita Harwood
    signed 2015-08-29 17:11:09 -0600
  • Ashley S. Brown
    signed 2015-08-29 17:10:13 -0600
  • Lonni Ann Fredman
    signed 2015-08-29 17:09:30 -0600
  • Mayra Acosta
    signed 2015-08-29 17:08:49 -0600
  • William T. Robinson
    signed 2015-08-28 14:41:15 -0600
  • Camilla Feibelman
    signed 2015-08-28 14:40:27 -0600
  • Jason Marks
    signed 2015-08-28 14:39:04 -0600
  • Elaine Hebard
    signed 2015-08-28 14:37:52 -0600
  • Daniel Clifford Campbell
    signed 2015-08-28 14:36:43 -0600
  • Nancy L. Gepfert
    signed 2015-08-28 14:36:02 -0600
  • Cheryl Harris
    signed 2015-08-28 14:35:09 -0600
  • Mark M. Feldman
    signed 2015-08-28 14:33:45 -0600
  • Mary Ramos
    signed 2015-08-28 14:33:05 -0600
  • Max Garcia
    signed 2015-08-28 14:32:30 -0600
  • Atanacio Maldonado
    signed 2015-08-28 14:31:45 -0600
  • Thelma Aragon
    signed 2015-08-28 14:30:58 -0600
  • Lane McConnell
    signed 2015-08-28 14:29:42 -0600
  • Sal Perdomo
    signed 2015-08-28 14:00:19 -0600
  • Janet Mason
    signed 2015-08-28 13:58:16 -0600
  • Becky Page
    signed 2015-08-28 13:57:51 -0600
  • Heather Greene
    signed 2015-08-28 13:57:14 -0600
  • Sean Ottmer
    signed 2015-08-28 13:56:30 -0600
  • Margarita Galvis
    signed 2015-08-28 13:55:57 -0600
  • Jacqueline V. Perez
    signed 2015-08-28 13:54:11 -0600
  • Monica Westerfield
    signed 2015-08-28 13:53:19 -0600
  • Juan Cardiel
    signed 2015-08-28 13:52:51 -0600
  • Lucy Bertoledo-Ronquillo
    signed 2015-08-28 13:52:16 -0600
  • Victoria Dominguez
    signed 2015-08-28 13:51:20 -0600
  • Nancy Y. Diaz
    signed 2015-08-28 13:50:43 -0600