Bernalillo Board of County Commissioners:

I call on you to assure healthcare coverage for all county residents, and to use the UNM Hospital lease agreement and Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) as a foundation to achieve a well-designed system of healthcare for Bernalillo County.   This is essential for a more vibrant and healthy community, public safety, and the economic security of all residents. 

In March 2014 you unanimously passed a resolution that opened up the UNM Hospital lease agreement and stated:

  • Bernalillo County voters support a county-wide “mill levy” tax to provide health care to county residents through UNM Hospital, Mental Health Center and clinics (UNMH); and,
  • With mill levy funds UNMH currently operates an indigent care program called “UNM Care” that provides comprehensive healthcare benefits to over 26,000 county residents (note: less than 8,000 now!); and
  • National experts estimate at least half of all uninsured patients will remain without coverage even after the ACA, leaving over 60,000 Bernalillo County residents uninsured; and
  • Bernalillo County has increased mill levy funds to approximately $90 million dollars per year in order to meet UNMH’s indigent care expenses, operation of the Mental Health Center and the provision of behavioral and substance abuse treatment services; and,
  • The Lease and Memorandum of Understanding renegotiation provide an opportunity to strengthen the healthcare safety net in Bernalillo County and ensure adequate behavioral health and substance abuse treatment services.

Your resolution created a healthcare task force to develop recommendations to assist in the lease renegotiations by developing a community-driven plan for meeting the healthcare needs in Bernalillo County, strengthening the healthcare safety net for Bernalillo County, and ensuring accountability for the use of taxpayer dollars towards healthcare.

The task force recommendations reflect the experience of organizations and individual community members. Therefore I strongly support the Bernalillo County Healthcare Task Force November 2014 recommendations to improve the health safety net:

  • Assure Healthcare Coverage for All County Residents
  • Meet Native American Healthcare Obligations
  • Increase Availability of Behavioral Health Services
  • Build an Integrated System of Primary Care and Navigation Support
  • Provide Continuity of Care for Incarcerated People
  • Increase County Oversight and Accountability for Mill Levy Funds

I urge you to incorporate these recommendations in the UNM hospital lease agreement and MOU that guide the use of county mill levy funds for the benefit of all Bernalillo County residents. 


Who's signing

Dulce Rodriguez
Tyler McCormick
James Barr
Sherri Gonzales
Christopher Ramirez
Mary Jo Picha
sovereign Hager
Valerie Quintana
Sara Nelson
Joan Brown, OSF
Monsignor Richard Olona
Shira L’heureux
Sei Tokada
Lynette Oskama
Bill Williamson
Eiko Williamson
Kiyoko Lucero
Yoko Niemi
Jennifer Yazawa
Vernon C. Butler
Jeanette Wilson
Tc Wilson
Tonya Covington
E. Lena Brown
Gala Yersherich
Amy Williamson
Jose M. Lucero Jr.
Kathryn Miller
Brenda Dabney
Rita Ann Powdrell
826 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Dulce Rodriguez
    signed 2015-09-17 09:24:32 -0600
  • Tyler McCormick
    signed 2015-09-08 15:48:37 -0600
  • James Barr
    signed 2015-09-08 13:52:56 -0600
  • Sherri Gonzales
    signed 2015-09-08 08:38:40 -0600
  • Christopher Ramirez
    signed 2015-09-08 05:18:02 -0600
  • Mary Jo Picha
    signed 2015-09-07 22:06:25 -0600
  • sovereign Hager
    signed 2015-09-07 17:42:20 -0600
  • Valerie Quintana
    signed 2015-09-04 15:57:07 -0600
  • Sara Nelson
    signed 2015-09-04 11:51:06 -0600
  • Joan Brown, OSF
    signed 2015-09-04 07:53:06 -0600
  • Monsignor Richard Olona
    signed 2015-09-04 07:52:23 -0600
  • Shira L’heureux
    signed 2015-09-04 07:51:39 -0600
  • Sei Tokada
    signed 2015-09-04 07:50:52 -0600
  • Lynette Oskama
    signed 2015-09-04 07:50:16 -0600
  • Bill Williamson
    signed 2015-09-04 07:49:30 -0600
  • Eiko Williamson
    signed 2015-09-04 07:49:01 -0600
  • Kiyoko Lucero
    signed 2015-09-04 07:48:15 -0600
  • Yoko Niemi
    signed 2015-09-04 07:47:37 -0600
  • Jennifer Yazawa
    signed 2015-09-04 07:46:54 -0600
  • Vernon C. Butler
    signed 2015-09-04 07:46:06 -0600
  • Jeanette Wilson
    signed 2015-09-04 07:45:26 -0600
  • Tc Wilson
    signed 2015-09-04 07:44:43 -0600
  • Tonya Covington
    signed 2015-09-04 07:44:05 -0600
  • E. Lena Brown
    signed 2015-09-04 07:43:20 -0600
  • Gala Yersherich
    signed 2015-09-04 07:42:36 -0600
  • Amy Williamson
    signed 2015-09-04 07:41:03 -0600
  • Jose M. Lucero Jr.
    signed 2015-09-04 07:40:21 -0600
  • Kathryn Miller
    signed 2015-09-04 07:39:38 -0600
  • Brenda Dabney
    signed 2015-09-04 07:38:58 -0600
  • Rita Ann Powdrell
    signed 2015-09-04 07:38:05 -0600